Andrew C. Chan, MD, PhD Board Member

Leadership & Board › Andrew C. Chan, MD, PhD

Dr. Andrew Chan is Senior Vice President of Research-Biology at Genentech, Inc (GNE) where he has overseen biological research in oncology, immunology, regenerative medicine, neuroscience and infectious diseases for over the past decade. He is an accomplished leader in target discovery, drug discovery and drug development

Chan is a leader in biotherapeutics and has authored key reviews for academic and biopharmaceutical communities integrating lessons learned about disease pathogenesis and mechanisms of therapy. He is also a leader in advocating and implementing precision medicine strategies through biomarker discovery and development. Chan’s laboratory focuses on how our immune systems protect us against foreign pathogens and yet cause autoimmune and inflammatory diseases. He has published over 100 research papers, review articles and books. Chan himself is a co-inventor of ocrelizumab (Ocrevus™), the first B-cell directed therapy approved by the FDA for treatment of both relapsing and progressive forms of multiple sclerosis.

Chan plays key roles to bridge academia, patient advocacy and industry. He presently serves as Chair of the Executive Advisory Board of the Chemistry Life Processes Institute (Northwestern University), member of the National Council at Washington University School of Medicine, and member of the Biopharma Advisory Board at Washington University. He is member of the National Medical and Scientific Advisory Board of the Arthritis Foundation and the Scientific Advisory Board of the Lupus Research Alliance. He is also Chair of the Workforce Development Committee of the Arthritis Foundation.

Chan received his BA and MS degrees in Chemistry at Northwestern University, MD and PhD degrees from Washington University (WUSM) and completed his internal medicine residency at Barnes Hospital and rheumatology fellowship at UCSF. He joined the faculty at WUSM in the Departments of Medicine and Pathology and was a member of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. He is an elected member of the American Association of Physicians (2009), American Society for Clinical Investigation (1999), Henry Kunkel Society (2005) and an honorary member of the Scandinavian Society of Immunology (2023). He is recipient of the Washington University Founder Award (2023), UCSF Alumni Discovery Award (2023), Lee Howley Sr Prize in arthritis research (2021), Northwestern Alumni medal (2020), Washington University School of Medicine Alumni Achievement award (2019), American Federation for Aging Research Chairman’s Award of Distinction (2013), Guin Warnock Award from the Arthritis Foundation (2012), Washington University Special Recognition Award for Mentoring Graduate Students (2000) and a Pew Scholar (1995). He is also presently Adjunct Associate Professor of Medicine at UCSF.